

## American College of Neuropsychopharmacology



1.

2.

3.

4.

PRESIDENT David A. Lewis, M.D.

PRESIDENT-ELECT Peter W. Kalivas, Ph.D.

PAST PRESIDENTS John H. Krystal, M.D. (2012) Eric J. Nestler, M.D., Ph.D. (2011)

SECRETARY Alan Frazer, Ph.D.

TREASURER David J. Kupfer, M.D.

COUNCIL Karen F. Berman, M.D. (11-13)

John G. Csernansky, M.D. (11-13)

Linda S. Brady, Ph.D. (12-14)

Ronald S. Duman, Ph.D. (12-14)

Suzanne N. Haber, Ph.D. (13-15)

Robert C. Malenka, M.D., Ph.D. (13-15)

Ronnie D. Wilkins, Ed.D. Executive Director

ACNP EXECUTIVE OFFICE 5034A Thoroughbred Lane Brentwood, TN 37027 Tel: (615) 324-2360 Fax: (615) 523-1715 acnp@acnp.org www.acnp.org

## 2013 ACNP Joel Elkes Research Award

The American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP) presents the Joel Elkes Research Award to a young scientist in recognition of an outstanding **clinical** contribution to neuropsychopharmacology. The contribution may be based on a single discovery or a cumulative body of work. Of particular interest in selecting the awardee are contributions that further our understanding of self-regulatory processes as they affect mental function and behavior in disease and well-being. Award recipients will receive a monetary award and a plaque to be given at the ACNP Annual Meeting in Hollywood, Florida, December 8-12, 2013. Award recipients who are not members of the ACNP may also be reimbursed for their expenses to attend the Annual Meeting.

Any scientist, worldwide, may nominate an individual for this award by submitting to the Awards Committee:

- a. The nominating letter (no more than three pages) should include a description of the contribution(s) of the candidate, and also the significance of his/her contribution(s); (additional supporting letters are not needed and will not be considered);
- b. The curriculum vitae of the candidate;
- c. No more than three papers representing the contribution(s) (career contributions or specific works) upon which the Award would be based.
- The recipient of the Elkes Research Award must be fifty (50) years of age or younger as of December 31, 2013. He/she *does not need* to be a member of the ACNP or a citizen of the United States. Nomination of women and minorities is highly encouraged.
  - Individuals who have received the Joel Elkes Research Award are:

| 1986 | Kenneth L. Davis     | 1999 | Nora D. Volkow        | 2006 | Andreas Meyer-Lindenberg |
|------|----------------------|------|-----------------------|------|--------------------------|
| 1989 | Daniel R. Weinberger | 2000 | Susan E. Swedo        | 2007 | Shitij Kapur             |
| 1993 | Thomas R. Kosten     | 2001 | John H. Krystal       | 2008 | Daniel S. Pine           |
| 1994 | Harold A. Sackeim    | 2001 | Marc Laruelle         | 2009 | Jay N. Giedd             |
| 1995 | Jack M. Gorman       | 2002 | Daniel C. Javitt      | 2010 | Joseph D. Buxbaum        |
| 1996 | Robert W. Kerwin     | 2002 | Neal R. Swerdlow      | 2011 | Gerard Sanacora          |
| 1997 | Alan Breier          | 2003 | Husseini K. Manji     | 2012 | Rita Z. Goldstein        |
| 1998 | Stephanie O'Malley   | 2004 | Scott L. Rauch        | 2012 | Anil K. Malhotra         |
| 1998 | Joseph Volpicelli    | 2005 | Paul Jeffrey Harrison |      |                          |

## The deadline for nominations is Wednesday, June 12, 2013