

American College of Neuropsychopharmacology



1.

2.

3.

4.

PRESIDENT David A. Lewis, M.D.

PRESIDENT-ELECT Peter W. Kalivas, Ph.D.

PAST PRESIDENTS John H. Krystal, M.D. (2012) Eric J. Nestler, M.D., Ph.D. (2011)

SECRETARY Alan Frazer, Ph.D.

TREASURER David J. Kupfer, M.D.

COUNCIL Karen F. Berman, M.D. (11-13)

John G. Csernansky, M.D. (11-13)

Linda S. Brady, Ph.D. (12-14)

Ronald S. Duman, Ph.D. (12-14)

Suzanne N. Haber, Ph.D. (13-15)

Robert C. Malenka, M.D., Ph.D. (13-15)

Ronnie D. Wilkins, Ed.D. Executive Director

ACNP EXECUTIVE OFFICE 5034A Thoroughbred Lane Brentwood, TN 37027 Tel: (615) 324-2360 Fax: (615) 523-1715 acnp@acnp.org www.acnp.org

2013 Daniel H. Efron Research Award

- The American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP) presents the Efron Award to an individual on the basis of outstanding **basic** research contributions to neuropsychopharmacology. The contributions may be preclinical or work that emphasizes the interface between basic and clinical research. The selection of the awardee is based on the quality of the contribution and its impact in advancing neuropsychopharmacology. Award recipients will receive a monetary award and a plaque to be given at the ACNP Annual Meeting in Hollywood, Florida, December 8-12, 2013. Award recipients who are not members of the ACNP may also be reimbursed for their expenses to attend the Annual Meeting. The Award winner must attend the Annual Meeting.
- Any scientist, worldwide, may nominate an individual for this award by submitting to the Awards Committee:
 - a. The nominating letter (no more than three pages) should include a description of the contribution(s) of the candidate and also the significance of his/her contribution(s); (additional supporting letters are not needed and will not be considered);
 - b. The curriculum vitae of the candidate;
 - c. No more than three papers representing the contribution(s) (career contributions or specific works) upon which the Award would be based.
- The recipient of the Efron Research Award must be fifty (50) years of age or younger as of December 31, 2013. He/she *does not need* to be a member of the ACNP or a citizen of the United States. Nomination of women and minorities is highly encouraged.
- Individuals who have received the Daniel H. Efron Research Award are:

10-1	~ . ~ .	100-		• • • • •	-
1974	Solomon Snyder	1987	Charles B. Nemeroff	2000	Emmanuel Mignot
1975	George Aghajanian	1988	Roland D. Ciaranello	2002	Bita Moghaddam
1976	Ross J. Baldessarini	1989	Salvatore J. Enna	2003	David A. Bredt
1978	Jack David Barchas	1990	Kenneth L. Davis	2004	Athina Markou
1979	David J. Kupfer	1991	George F. Koob	2005	Joseph D. Buxbaum
1980	Herbert Y. Meltzer	1992	Dennis S. Charney	2006	David W. Self
1982	Joseph T. Coyle	1993	Stephen J. Peroutka	2007	Akira Sawa
1983	Benjamin S. Bunney	1994	Eric J. Nestler	2008	William A. Carlezon Jr.
1983	Richard J. Wyatt	1996	Peter W. Kalivas	2009	Antonello Bonci
1984	Michael J. Kuhar	1997	Errol B. De Souza	2010	Karl Deisseroth
1985	Robert M. Post	1998	Robert C. Malenka	2011	Lisa M. Monteggia
1985	Elliott Richelson	1987	Randy Blakely	2012	Larry J. Young
1986	Steven M. Paul	1999	Anthony A. Grace		-

The deadline for nominations is Wednesday, June 12, 2013